13 August, 2015

Next live engagement...

We've been writing and planning and writing and planning some more. Shows have been sparse as of late. This will be our first local appearance since February. Life can throw some rocks in your face from time to time. We're ready to throw some back. Please join us on August 29th at The Low Beat in Albany, NY. We're excited to share the evening with 2 unique and engaging new local bands, Wrasp and Rota as well as some old friends from Boston, Rum Ham.

03 February, 2015

NEW "As the Crow Flies" limited cassette release...

"As the Crow Flies" is our first new recording since the release of "Stop and Breathe" and serves as a preview of what is to come with our next full length. We write and record at our own pace, so we felt it important to put something out in the interim. It's as raw and hostile a representation of our sound as we've done thus far and we are excited about the direction our other new songs are heading.

For the B side, we used a live in-studio recording of "For Your Spewing Pleasure" from 2010, previously only available for stream.

It's limited to 50 copies with a tri-fold heavy stock insert, lyric sheet and digital download code. Physical and digital copies are both available for purchase via our Bandcamp page.

"As the Crow Flies" was recorded by Brett Portzer at Black Dog Recording Studio, mixed at home by Ryan Slowey, featuring guest vocals by Charles Cure (http://hushdoom.bandcamp.com).

"For Your Spewing Pleasure" was recorded and mixed at North Sea Studio by Ryan Slowey and Brett Portzer, respectively, featuring guest vocals by Joe Hall.


02 February, 2015

Next show...

337 Central Avenue, Albany, NY.

06 February, 2013

Local Albany label, Fuzz Records to release "Stop and Breathe" on VINYL this April...

We're incredibly humbled and stoked to announce that our debut album "Stop and Breathe" is going to be the first release for local Albany record label, Fuzz Records. Fuzz Records is an extension of the already established new vinyl shop, Fuzz Record Shop.

We are honored to be a part of this endeavor on such a foundational level. Josh and August from Fuzz are extremely passionate about music and this project, and that is something that mirrors how we feel about the band, and this record. This is also an immeasurably important and overdue contribution to the music scene in Albany and Upstate New York in general. 

We will be celebrating the release with a show on April 12, 2013, joined by San Francisco's Kowloon Walled City, whose critically acclaimed sophomore record "Container Ships" was released this past December on Brutal Panda Records, as well as Boston's hardcore experimentalists Zozobra, whose highly anticipated new record will be released this Spring, also by Brutal Panda. Opening the occassion are our good friends and doom monoliths Hush, playing songs from their debut effort "Untitled I".

This show will be a memorable one. Advance tickets are available online via Brown Paper Tickets: http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/331836, and at Fuzz Record Shop (209 Lark St., Albany, NY - 518.729.4566). Prices are $6/adv, $8/dos.

19 November, 2012

STOP AND BREATHE now available for Download...

05 October, 2012


We are happy to announce the release of our debut album "STOP AND BREATHE" on November 10th, 2012!!!

Over a year in the making, Maggot Brain's "Stop and Breathe" is the culmination of a lot of self reflection, personal growth, bad luck, good times, and hard work. Recorded and mixed by the bands' own Ryan Slowey and Brett Portzer at North Sea Studios and Empty House in Albany, NY, and mastered by Carl Saff at Saff Mastering in Chicago, IL; "Stop and Breathe" features 7 tracks melding hardcore, punk, doom, crust, grind, rock, and psychedelic influences into a raw, relentless, and painfully honest look into the hearts and minds of the group.

To celebrate the release, Maggot Brain will share the stage with their good friends in HUSH (who will also be celebrating the release of their debut album) on Saturday, November 10th, 2012 at Valentines Music Hall (17 New Scotland Ave., Albany, NY). Joining them will be Boston's Hivesmasher (new album "Gutter Choir" out 10/23 on Blackmarket Activities), and Albany's Start the Reactor (featuring ex members of Clitorture, Balls Deep, Mucopus, Organ Harvest). Doors at 8PM, $5, first 50 paid get a FREE copy of "Stop and Breathe" as well as Hush's album.

This is catharsis. This is life. Take the time to "STOP AND BREATHE".

"Stop and Breathe" Tracklisting:

1. Mantra
2. Breathe
3. Silence
4. Celestial Bodies
5. Clearing
6. Cancer
7. The Great Destroyer

Stream "Breathe" here: